Archive for December, 2009

Thursday 31st December 1914

Thursday, December 31st, 2009

A day off.

Wednesday 30th December 1914

Wednesday, December 30th, 2009

Review of Division by Gen Birdwood and Sir Thomas McKenzie. Company training in afternoon. Night operations, 10 p.m. till 6.30 a.m. Lieut Cross goes to Hospital with dysentery.

Tuesday 29th December 1914

Tuesday, December 29th, 2009

Company training.

Monday 28th December 1914

Monday, December 28th, 2009

Company training. A useful day. One of the first.

Sunday 27th December 1918

Sunday, December 27th, 2009

Church Parade. General Leave.

Saturday 26th December 1914

Saturday, December 26th, 2009

Cleaning day.

Friday 25th December 1914

Friday, December 25th, 2009

Church Parade, dinner, and a holiday.

Thursday 24th December 1914

Thursday, December 24th, 2009

Christmas eve. Battalion parade as usual though company training in orders. Lecture by Brigadier. Orders changed. A good days work. Officers dinner Shepherds 8 p.m. Present Majors Cunningham, Young, Capts. Cook, Hume, Cameron, Acton (1st Batn. Royal Irish), Gledhill (2nd Battalion ditto), Lieuts. Turnbull, Menteath, Baddeley. A pleasant evening and great cordiality between ourselves and [...]

Wednesday 23rd December 1914

Wednesday, December 23rd, 2009

March to Cairo past the G.O.C Sir John Maxwell.  Inspection by him of N.Z. Division. A long march through the narrow native streets and quarters of The Mousky. Long time at the slope. Many amusing incidents en route. Much leg weariness. Halt 20 minutes for lunch then off back again. Men very tired and dusty. Glad [...]

Tuesday 22nd December 1914

Tuesday, December 22nd, 2009

Regimental parade 7.45. Ration carried similar to yesterday.