Archive for March, 2010

Monday 29th March – Tuesday 6th April 1915

Monday, March 29th, 2010

This period was spent largely in overhauling kits, selecting war strength and reinforcements and generally in preparation for the move which we had been warned would very shortly be made. It was a time of excitement and bustle but we found time for a few route marches to keep fit and mobilization parades by steamers.

Sunday 28th March 1915

Sunday, March 28th, 2010

Usual Sunday in Camp.

Saturday 27th March 1915

Saturday, March 27th, 2010

In Camp. Usual Saturday.

Friday 26th March 1915

Friday, March 26th, 2010

In Camp. Equipment.

Thursday 25th March 1915

Thursday, March 25th, 2010

Route March.

Wednesday 24th March 1915

Wednesday, March 24th, 2010

Brigade exercise in outpost work along banks of Canal, about 2 miles march from Camp. Very shady and delightfully cool.

Tuesday 23rd March 1915

Tuesday, March 23rd, 2010

A Brigade Field day. Attack on Coombe Hill.

Monday 22nd March 1915

Monday, March 22nd, 2010

The Division mobilized and marched past. Sir Henry MacMahon British Representative in Egypt and Sir John Maxwell G.O.C. were present. The dust was terrific.

Sunday 21st March 1915

Sunday, March 21st, 2010

Hot and dusty. Church Parade and General leave.

Saturday 20th March 1915

Saturday, March 20th, 2010

A short morning’s work and a half holiday in the afternoon. In the morning the Senior Officers attended a lecture by Gen. Cunliffe-Owen who has just come from France on artillery co-operation with Infantry. The General is just fresh from the heavy fighting in France and he gave his experiences as affecting the subject on [...]