Archive for August, 2011

Wednesday 24th August 1916

Wednesday, August 24th, 2011

From the Regimental Diary
Place: Airaines
Battalion engaged in strenuous training in view of fighting to take place on Somme.

Monday 22nd August 1916

Monday, August 22nd, 2011

From the Regimental Diary
Place: Airaines
Arrived Pont Remy 2 a.m. Marched to Airaines.

Sunday 21st August 1916

Sunday, August 21st, 2011

From the Regimental Diary
Place: Blaringhem
Marched to Arcques. Entrained for Pont Remy.

Thursday 18th August 1916

Thursday, August 18th, 2011

From the Regimental Diary
Place: Blaringhem
Marched Steenwerck. Entrained for Ebblington arrived 3 p.m. Batt. then marched to Blaringhem.

Wednesday 17th August 1916

Wednesday, August 17th, 2011

Regimental Diary.
Place: Armentieres
Moved to Rue Nationale – Great clean up in view of move tomorrow.

Tuesday 23rd August 1916

Friday, August 12th, 2011

From the Regimental Diary
Place: Airaines
Disciplinary measures.

Thursday 11th August 1916

Thursday, August 11th, 2011

Regimental Diary
W.W.C. returns from leave and assumes command.

Monday 8th August 1916

Monday, August 8th, 2011

From Regimental Diary
Place: Houplines
Relieved by 2nd Otago, Complete 10 p.m. Batn. Biv. Res. Breuverts Factory. 2 Corp. Tissape? at Houplines. C.O. attend lecture on fighting in Trones Wood.

Saturday 6th August 1916

Sunday, August 7th, 2011

There is a gap in the Company Diary from 5th August 1916 to 5th [6th]September 1916.

Friday 5th August 1916

Saturday, August 6th, 2011

[Leap Year adjustment]
 Routine work.
               10/3483 Pte Bilderbeck G. (Hosp.)
               10/4464 Pte Hamilton D. retd from Hosp
               10/3524  Pte Coombes A.N. retd from Hosp